Get to Know MyCase's Technology Lead, Damon Valenzona

damon-198x300What is your position with MyCase?
I am the Technology Lead.

How did you end up working for MyCase?
I was an intern with AppFolio while attending graduate school at University of California Santa Barbara. I loved the internship so much that I joined the team right after graduation. After AppFolio acquired MyCase, I moved down to San Diego to help with the  engineering effort.

What does your job entail?
I wear many hats at MyCase. My duties include software development, operations, management, and hiring.

What is the most difficult part of your job?
The most difficult part of my job is solving complex engineering problems. A lot of effort goes into coding an application that can function at scale. It might seem that since our application is so easy to use that it would also be easy to develop, but that’s not the case.

What’s the best part of your job?
There are two things that come to mind. First, the most difficult part of my job is also one of the favorite parts of my job. It is really fun to solve complex engineering problems. After you put in all the hard work to get a feature out to the customers, it is an amazing feeling to hear that they use and appreciate that feature. My other favorite part about the job is the people. The employees at MyCase are extremely smart and enjoyable people.
They create a culture that makes MyCase a fun place to work.

Where are you originally from and how did you end up in San Diego?
I grew up in Renton, Washington (a suburb of Seattle). I moved down to Santa Barbara
for school and stayed there to work for AppFolio. I moved down to San Diego for MyCase and really enjoy the city.

What do you like to do in your spare time?
I am a big runner. I have done 3 Marathons and ran the Boston Marathon last month.
When I train for marathons I usually run over 100 miles a week. I also enjoy outdoor activities such as soccer, hiking, snowboarding, and going to the beach.

Do you have any unusual hobbies?
I guess my running hobby is pretty unusual or maybe I should I say the amount that I run is unusual. Many people find it strange that I’ll go for a 15 mile run before getting into the office and then do a 5 mile run after I get home.

Tell me about your family/pets, etc.?
I have 3 brothers and a sister that still live in the Seattle area along with my mother. I try to visit as much I can. I also have a girlfriend of 7 years whom I met as an undergraduate. She is wonderful.

« »

Practice Management Tips You’ll Actually Use

Proven strategies from legal experts, delivered straight to your inbox

No thanks, not right now

Get the Latest Firm Management & Growth Strategies

Best practices from REAL legal experts

How-to guides and articles

Webinars with thought leaders